Opinion Outpost

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars Rating: 4.50 /33 votes

Loading...Loading...Opinion_OutpostOpinion Outpost is a online survey research panel powered by Survey Sampling International, LLC, who has been the world’s leading provider of survey sampling solutions.Opinion Outpost offers its panel members the opportunity to take marketing research surveys in exchange for rewards.

Join Opinion Outpost – USA Panel
Join Opinion Outpost – Canada Panel
Join Opinion Outpost – UK Panel

Is Opinion Outpost Legit or Scam

First I just want to make it clear that Opinion Outpost is a legitimate online paid survey panel, not a scam! It is actually one of the best survey panels out there.

Opinion Outpost Rewards

Opinion Outpost rewards panel members Opinion Points for every survey they qualify and complete, and points can redeemed for following rewards:

  • Cash – paid via Paypal. Minimum Redemption = 100 points ($10)
  • Amazon Gift Card – Minimum Redemption = 50 points ($5)
  • iTunes or Restaurant.com Gift cards – Minimum Redemption = 100 points ($10)
  • For every survey you take – regardless of whether or not you qualify to complete the whole study – you will receive an entry into the $40,000 year-long cash give away. Every quarter a winner will win $10,000.
  • Charity Donations – Trade in your points to support popular charity organizations. Also, Opinion Outpost will often donate to charities on your behalf

Who Can Join Opinion Outpost

  • You must be at at least 18 years old
  • Residents of the United States, Canada or United Kingdom

My Review of Opinion Outpost

How often do they send out surveys?

Opinion Outpost has plenty surveys and send out survey invites quite frequently, personally I receive 2-3 surveys invitation emails daily.

On their website they say that they “cannot say who or when any member will receive invitations. This is because each survey is customized and based around the research goals for each individual client. Depending on your profile, we may ask you to complete surveys more or often.” – so I guess they are saying it depends on your personal profile.

If you don’t receive survey emails from them, you can log into your account, and there is a “Take a Survey” link on your account dashboard and you can start taking surveys from there.

How much do they pay for surveys?

Generally they pay 10 Points ($1) – 50 Points ($5) per survey, sometimes 5 points for very short surveys.

Survey Quality

They host most of the surveys themselves, and survey topics vary and generally interesting. Most surveys take about 10 -25 minutes to complete.

Opinion Outpost also has many high paying online surveys, focus groups and paid product testing opportunities.

How Fast Do They Credit Surveys and Pay?

They credited your surveys points immediately after you complete a surveys, which means you don’t have to wait for days or weeks to get credits. This is one of the reasons I really like Opinion Outpost.

I have redeemed a few times and requested cash payments.  Before they are a little slow sending out checks, but now since they have Paypal and amazon gift card options, they pay super fast! I have redeemed cash via Paypal and I received my Paypal payment at once!

Please note that in order to get paid cash via Paypal, you need to have a verified Paypal account.

Payment Proof (Paypal, January 2014)

Following is the screen shot of my Paypal payment ($10.60) received recently (January 2014) from Opinion Outpost.

Opinion-outpost-Paypal_payment

How is the Panel Support?

Members support is pretty good in my opinion. I have contacted the support regarding login issues and received responses and had problem resolved within 2 days.

Do You Recommend Opinion Outpost?

Yes! Opinion Outpost is a very legitimate and reliable online paid survey panel. I have been with them for a long time and they are still one of my “top” survey panels and I definitely recommend it!

How do I get started making money with Opinion Outpost?

To start making money taking surveys with Opinion Outpost, just follow these steps:

Step One – Join Opinion Outpost survey panel

Click the following sign up links to join Opinion Outpost survey panel and fill out the sign up form.

Join Opinion Outpost – USA
Join Opinion Outpost – Canada
Join Opinion Outpost – UK

Once you fill out and submit the registration form, you will receive an email from Opinion Outpost asking you to confirm your membership – please make sure to click the link within the email to confirm your registration.

Step Two – Take Surveys and Earn Points

After you become a member of Opinion Outpost, you will start receiving survey invitation emails for online surveys. They will let you know how many points you will earn for the survey and how long the survey last.  You can also log into your account, and just click the “Take a Survey” button at the top of your account page.

Here is what member account looks like (I was looking at my reward history when I took this screen shot :) ) As you can see, at your “account center” you can edit profile, redeem rewards, check survey history and reward history, and most importantly you can take a survey!

OpinionOutpost-rewardhistory

Step Three – Redeem Your Points for Rewards

Once you have earned 50 points, you can redeem the points for $5 amazon gift certificate, and once you have 100 points, you can redeem the points for $10 cash via Paypal.  Just log into your account and redeem rewards there.

Opinion Outpost News and Updates (last updated – April 2, 2014)

April 2, 2014 – Refer a Friend/Colleague and Earn Rewards
Update – Received two emails from Opinion Outpost with an personal referral link. You will earn $1 in points every time a friend joins and completes a survey through your referral link. You can earn a maximum of $5.

Nov.21, 2013 – Coming Soon: ALL NEW OpinionOutpost.com
Received an email from Opinion Outpost – “Same great site, even more accessible. We’re always working to improve how you connect with us. Beginning soon, you’ll be able to use an all-new, redesigned OpinionOutpost.com in ways never possible before. Now you can access your account, point balance, and redeem points wherever you are posted up with your mobile smartphone and tablet.”

Are you a member of Opinion Outpost? Please feel free to share your reviews and comments. If you are not a member yet, I highly recommend you join Opinion Outpost survey panel – it’s a legitimate, reliable and great survey panel for members to earn extra money by taking online surveys!

55 thoughts on “Opinion Outpost

  1. Opinion Outpost Refer a Colleague …and Earn up to $5 in Opinion Points!

    Email received…

    Your Link:
    http://opinionoutpost.com/General/recruitment/refer-a-colleague?Referer=ZLP0a8y8Tbh2HHHZjF1C_qSfpzWzE8U3

    IMPORTANT: We are able to track your referrals through this link. If you do not use this link then we will be unable to monitor your success and rewards. You will earn $1 every time a friend joins and takes a survey through the link above. You can earn a maximum of $5.

  2. Taking a new survey, and just as Surveyspot, you need to agree to the new SSI Terms..

    SSI Terms & Conditions, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Notice Update

    SSI is constantly reviewing our practices to ensure our panelists have the best experience. As part of that review, we have made some changes to our terms and conditions and privacy policy, and we developed a new notice regarding our use of cookies and similar technologies. In order to continue to participate in our surveys and earn rewards, you must accept these new terms by November 30, 2013. If we don’t hear from you affirmatively by November 30, we will assume you want us to terminate your account. If you choose not to accept the terms, we will be sad to see you go, but you will have until December 31, 2013 to redeem the points you have earned to date.

    • I know it’s a little hard to qualify for their surveys sometimes but I still think Opinion Outpost is a very good survey panel. I tried 4-5 surveys the other day and finally qualified and completed a survey which earned me 18 points. The points immediately added to my account and I am close to cash out again.

  3. Update – I receive 19-26 surveys a month and qualify for 1-5 of them. I haven’t had any problems with them. They are in my personal top 12 best survey companies!

  4. [quote name=mlynn]I have the same feeling Kim…I only take their surveys that pay at least $1(10 points) for every 10 minutes..They now have so many low paying surveys after merged with Surveyspot (or bought by SSI). Disappointing…[/quote]
    I think part of the problem is that people do those 5 point surveys so they will continue putting them on the site. :sigh:

  5. I have the same feeling Kim…I only take their surveys that pay at least $1(10 points) for every 10 minutes..They now have so many low paying surveys after merged with Surveyspot (or bought by SSI). Disappointing…

  6. I have been with OO for a while now and am unhappy with what’s happening on the site. Their points have changed a lot. Twice I clicked on a 5 point for 7 mins and ended up on a survey for 20 minutes. I emailed and got nowhere – their clients set the times for surveys. I responded that either way it is not right and they should do something. It’s happened a few times since – so I’d say it’s in their favour, they benefit from it. Too bad really as they will lose out on survey takers.

  7. [quote name=mlynn]
    Looks like they still haven’t sorted out the old/new sites transition or merger or whatever it is!! :-*[/quote]
    Well I had stopped receiving invites from all the sites until now with Opinion Outpost.

  8. [quote name=porter18]In a new twist while all my accounts are still frozen, I received a survey invite from Opinion Outpost, the link leading me to the old site.
    It looks like it logs me in, but clicking any of the site links lead me to the new site main page.[/quote]Looks like they still haven’t sorted out the old/new sites transition or merger or whatever it is!! :-*

  9. In a new twist while all my accounts are still frozen, I received a survey invite from Opinion Outpost, the link leading me to the old site.
    It looks like it logs me in, but clicking any of the site links lead me to the new site main page.

  10. Such a mess….I am not sure if I want to take their (Opinion Outpost and Surveyspot) surveys now until everything sort out. :sad:

  11. [quote name=mlynn]? I mean if they only allow one account shouldn’t they just merger their panels to ONE panel like Lightspeed and MySurvey? [/quote]
    The only explanation i can think of is maybe for opinion outpost is still providing some of their own surveys, but using SSI for most of them.
    Other then that I have no clue why they are simply not merged under one site, other then giving them reason to screw members out of their rewards when the do a “accounts review” after merging with a new site, and instantly lock out all duplicates.

    I Forwarded my reply to their email telling me why my accounts were locked directly to SSI since replying (as they indicated i could do in the email) comes back undeliverable.

  12. Opinion Outpost is not what it use to be. It was one of my favorite sites to do surveys. Too many 5 point surveys now (5 points for 15 minutes is not good). They use to credit 20 points for 25 min surveys now its 10-15 points. There aren’t as many surveys either. I am hearing quite a few complaints from different survey forums and I’m hoping OO is listening.

  13. Thank you Porter and Henry for your feedback of Opinion Outpost account problems. I still able to access Opinion Outpost and Surveyspot, but not Opinion World. This is really frustrating, but I am surprised to know that eventually you will only have one account with all their (SSI) panels? How does that work? I mean if they only allow one account shouldn’t they just merger their panels to ONE panel like Lightspeed and MySurvey? I am confused!!

  14. I haven’t been able to access my account for a few months. This is one of the answers I got from them.

    Hello Henry,

    With regard to each of your accounts not being moved over yet. We’d like to inform you that we have been listing down the email addresses of those who have emailed and called us about this, and have actually been sending the SSI Migration team a list of PIDs and email addresses by batch every week for processing. But because they have well over thousands of accounts that need to be looked into before moving any account over to the new system, the process is taking longer than was expected. Rest assured, they are being looked into by the team. As for a specific time frame as to when all these accounts will be moved over, we are unable to say. We are hoping in the coming weeks or so. We are truly sorry about all that has been going on since the merger and are doing all that we can to make things happen and get things going as soon as possible.

    Best Regards,

    Rona

    Panel Support Representative

  15. Opinion Outpost is now operated by Survey Sampling International (SSI) who also runs the following sites:

    Opinion Outpost
    SurveySpot
    PCH Online Surveys
    OpinionWorld
    YourVoice

    Having an account with more then one of these will eventually get them all locked without notice. Even if you were registered with them before they merged under SSI.

  16. It would appear that I too have now become a victim of opinion outposts sudden “freezing of account” for no apparent reason.
    Just days after completing a multi-part study worth like $15 alone I found my account was frozen.
    Sent an email to their support only to get an generic “we will get back to you soon” response.
    Waited a month with no reply, sent another email, same response.

    On another note, I am not 100% positive but I think opinion outposts new site is partnered with survey spot, with them running few of their own study’s anymore.

  17. I had good luck with Opinion outpost when they paid you by checks , but since they have switched over to pay pal I’m ready to quit & here’s why… I used to earn about $20 a month on this site, but in the last 6 weeks I have answered a 100 plus surveys & have not qualifed for a single one!!! This has turned into the BIGGEST WASTE OF TIME since the change over to pay pal

  18. Update – I receive 30-40 surveys a month and qualify for 1-3 of them, more surveys but qualifying less than I did in 2010. I haven’t had any problems with them.

  19. :P I love this site I think overall it is my favorite site. I usally get at least 2 surveys a day. I recently did a focus group on dry shampoo and I got 100.00 for about 3 hours. You need to sign up for this site.

    Wendy

  20. I’ve belonged to OpinionOutpost for many years and they have always treated me fairly. I average between $10.00 and $15.00 a month. What I like the best about them is they pay several dollars per survey.

  21. If you are reading this, you may be like me and thousands of other individuals who pursue survey-based services online where our opinion provides an invaluable resource to product manufacturers, businesses, service providers, etc. and where our time is rewarded with compensation. I, myself, have been a member of many different paid survey services for a few years now and have had both excellent and very unfavorable experiences.

    I was shocked and appalled to find out that Opinion Outpost was rated the #1 paid survey service available, yet through my experience this is by far the worst service of which I have ever been a member. I know I am not alone in saying that Opinion Outpost is notorious for taking advantage of their “cherished and valued” members, providing horrific customer service and ultimately giving survey-based services overall a marred reputation.

    I was a member of Opinion Outpost for many years only to have my account flagged on several occasions for no apparent cause and/or reason. When your account is flagged you receive no survey opportunities until this flag is removed. I had to contact customer service numerous times about this issue because they never notified me that my account status had ever changed. No explanation was ever given regarding this matter and in the end my evaluation of their customer relations is that they provide inadequate, unprofessional, prejudiced and demeaning customer service with an overall lack of concern.

    If this is not enough to make anyone avoid this detestable service and seek out superior avenues, here is a list of more irritably-frustrating experiences which ultimately led me to throw in the towel:
    - They require you to sacrifice many hours of your time to provide an enormous amount of personal/sensitive information for which they give you ZERO compensation.
    - Time and time again I have answered up to 50 questions for a single survey, providing so much useful data, only to find out that I did not qualify and thus received no compensation for my time and information provided.
    - They allow their partners to covertly steal your information without compensation and/or notification… let alone permission. When you confront Opinion Outpost about such matters they respond by asking if you would like them to close your account as this is common practice.
    - I can honestly say that I only qualified for 10% of the surveys they ever sent me. This equates to many hours of wasted time, confusion, frustration and utter annoyance.

    Through a lot of time and wasted energy I know now that I am better off not maintaining my membership with Opinion Outpost. I hope that this review will save at least one person their precious time, effort and frustration through which myself and many other members have direly suffered.

    On a side note: I have personally known other members of Opinion Outpost who have had nothing but problems similar to my own. Only a minute number of individuals have ever been satisfied by their service. I would not be surprised to find out that many of the positive reviews one can find regarding Opinion Outpost were written by employees or affiliates.

    Some claim they provide the highest rate of compensation for a free service (?). But at what price?

  22. Fantastic company and by the easiest survey site to do and complete. Have been with for a couple of years and they are great.

  23. Very good review of Opinion Outpost. I’ve made tons from this site as well (normally over $50-75 a month).

  24. I love this site, I get at least one survey option a day and I usually qualify for them easily. The payout is easy I usually wait until I have 25.00 then cash out have cashed out three time in the last month !!

  25. Update – I receive 18-25 surveys a month. I qualify for 1-4 surveys. More surveys but less qualification. At this moment I’m receiving less money from them, compared to last year. I havent had any problems with them or receiving the money.

  26. I am doing a personal experiment to see whether or not these paid survey sites are legit. I have decided to start a blog about it. Opinion Outpost is one of the sites I am reviewing, I have had luck so far. Check out my blog if you are interested in reading about my experience thus far. :-)

  27. Excellent survey site. Probably the best. I’ve made over $70 with them since Sept. 09. I’ve had two product tests as well. Lowest survey amount I’ve had has been 80 cents, highest paid was $6.50! Only bad point is the OTX surveys. Most of them are too hard to qualify for, though I have gotten through maybe five since Sept.

  28. Hi Kathi, Sorry to hear the trouble. I am receiving surveys from them, so they are still in business. They have a contact form on their site, maybe you can contact them to see if they can help? Hope it works out for you!

  29. Have tried signing up on this site numberous times. After filling our e-mail, etc, always get a message “site is unavailable at this time.” Have been trying for 2 months.

  30. I joined Opinion Outpost at the end of June 09 and have already gotten a $50.00 check
    from them. I still have about $15 in my
    account, so you earn money with them pretty fast. This is one of my top survey sites.
    No product tests with them yet, but they have
    paid me well for my time, for the surveys
    which I’ve taken.
    They send me surveys regularly, at least every other day.
    I don’t like all the OTX surveys they send b/c, OTX has you answer questions anywhere from 5-20 minutes and suddenly you don’t qualify.
    I don’t know about you but if I sit and answer questions for 20 minutes, I consider
    myself having taken a survey.
    So other than Opinion Outpost farming
    out quite a few of their surveys to OTX,
    I am very happy with them.
    This is a site I recommend you sign
    up with. {*;*}

  31. In addition to profiles, have you changed your email address since being a member? I joined with an AOL address and was getting 1-10 surveys a week, later changed to GMAIL and they stopped for 2 months. I emailed Cust support, they said all was good, no problem. Changed back to AOL, and they started rolling in again.

  32. Hi Chris, check your profile and make sure everything is right. Somebody mentioned this at the forum that his profile totally messed up by their system somehow and after he fixed he receive surveys again after no surveys for a long time.

  33. I receive 15-20 surveys a month. :shock:
    I qualify for 2-4 a month.
    I have received payment from them.
    They pay through check.
    It took about 2-3 weeks.
    I havent had any problems with them.
    They are in my top 15 survey sites.

  34. I don’t know about you guys and gals, but I get 2-3 surveys a day from them and I qualify for most of them. The cash starts to add up quickly. Make sure you fill out your profile surveys to get better surveys !

  35. Hard to qualify but pays very well. Very few surveys in one month then 3 in one week. They also have OTX surveys which I do not attempt. It seems that Greenfield gives them their better paying surveys rather than to their own Greenfield members (shame on Greenfield). I probably only qualify for about 25% of surveys but average $5 a survey.

  36. Hello,

    Update once a month your profiles even if there is no change. Log in from time to time. If there still isn’t any change e-mail them once in a while to show you are still interested. The surveys should come. I also had a dead period for weeks with them, then things picked up again.

    Pati
    http://www.patisondagesetc.blogspot.com

  37. I have the same problems as Soly. I haven’t gotten an invite in about 5 months and I just get the generic reply when I send an email that sometimes I people don’t meet certain criteria….

  38. Yeah, I sent them an email asking why I haven’t been receiving any surveys. Their response was a generic one, that everything is okay, invites depend on what they are looking for, etc. My sister also is signed up with them and she haven’t been receiving any either.

  39. charee,
    did they also tell you that everything was OK with your account?!?!? I even did all the profile surveys from their website again!

  40. I also have the same problem, over the last few months I haven’t receive any survey invites from them. I don’t know what’s going on.

  41. I registered to the site about a year and a half ago. I used to receive surveys every week or so, but in the last 4 or 5 months I havent received a single survey from them!!! I asked them if my account had a problem and they told me that everything was OK. Does anyone have the same problem???

  42. i became a member 9 days ago, i have received 11 surveys, qualified for 5. i just cashed out yesterday with 12 dollars just to see if its real. In about 4 weeks im supposed to get the check. if its true, then this site is the best survey site ever! So many surveys, and they all pay well. simply increadible. :D

  43. i get surveys from them weekly and in a few months i have made 77.90$ this site rocks. i get ALOT of surveys from them

  44. This is another one of my favorites and they pay good.I have done 7 surveys and that added up to $22.80 since joining a little over a month ago.I had the chance to complete 27 surveys but only qualified for the 7.So there is a chance to earn way more then i have.I recieved one check for $5 bucks so far and am waiting for the others now.Great site i recommend to everyone.

  45. In my experience Opinion Outpost send 3 to 4 surveys a week though it is tough to qualify. In the 4 months of my membership I have earned $50. I have had problems receiving checks and they do take time, but I have received all that was due

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *