Pinecone Research Sign Up Banner
Free Paid Survey Home arrow Paid Survey Scams arrow Global Survey Group - Scam or Spam

Global Survey Group - Scam or Spam E-mail

I have seen people mention and promote this site (Global Survey Group -  globalsurveygroup.com), so I visited the site, and here is my thought.

First, on their home page they say: "Join Today for a chance to win A new TV, $100,000 cash, or a new SUV". For some reason I don't feel good about this, $100,000 cash or a new SUV is a lot of money..I havn't seen any legitimate market research and paid survey companies offer such a big reward just for joining..

Seccond, in the "How it Work" section, here is what they say:

Membership is free and confidential. Please visit our free member registration page. Complete the free Global Survey Group membership application by providing us with your personal data so that we can activate your survey account.

After we have approved your free membership, our market research group will email you invitations for surveys. The survey emails will take you directly to the surveys so there will be no need to login.

Each survey should take less than 7 minutes and your feedback will provide valuable influence for the development of new products and improvement of existing ones.

You do not have to participate in every survey, however, we may consider you an inactive member and stop sending you emails if you do not participate on a frequent basis.

It sounds like they are a paid survey site that actually send surveys, but I kind of feel something is not right, since it doesn't say "we will email you invitations for surveys" like other legit paid survey sites, instead it says "our market research group will email you invitations for surveys".

Third, when I look at their privacy policy, I found the red flag, here is the part:

"How is User information used?

...
When you register with Global Survey Group, you may receive offers from us or our marketing partners. Our marketing partners may use this information to make offers to you in your areas of interest or other offers. Our marketing partners wishing to contact you either give their e-mail message to us and we deliver it to you, or with your prior permission, we provide your contact information to them so they can deliver messages directly to you. It is solely at your discretion if you choose to provide additional personally identifiable information to a marketer by making a purchase, requesting additional information, or communicating directly with the company or organization after using its website. We may also use outside companies to execute the marketing campaigns on our behalf or on behalf of some of our marketing partners. We will share your e-mail name & other information that you give us that is necessary for these third parties to provide these services. These third parties are not allowed to use personally identifiable information except for the purposes of providing these services.
"

Legitimate paid survey sites' privacy policy always say something like "we will not share/rent/sale your personal information to any third parties, you personal information is strictly kept confidential with us...etc", no where they will say "you might received offers from us or our marketing partners...."

Conclusion: based on above analysis, I think GlobalSurveyGroup.com is NOT a real legitimate market research/paid survey site, I am almost sure it is just another email harvest site, and you probably will get spams if you sign up. So my suggestion is stay away from this site.


Comments (4)
RSS comments
1. 19-06-2008 17:18
Your observation helped me tremendously. I never received an offer to do surveys before and you helped me make the decision not to reply to this one. Thank you.
Mary Anne Freitag
2. 19-06-2008 20:44
Hi Mary, 
 
You are welcome! I am glad it helped!
Mei
3. 23-06-2008 08:31
I signed up with this company and received a check within one week for $4,930.00 which sent up a red flag. They asked that I send $4,440.00 of the money back by Money Gram with in 2 weeks to a person in Canada. They also included fees and asked that I keep $400.00 for taking part. I would never send money to a strange in another company so I think this is a way to get my $4,440.00 but they will not be that luck.
Gerri
4. 23-06-2008 09:44
Wow! Gerri, you are so right that is a big SCAM! Glad you didn't fall for it! Good for you!
Mei

Write Comment/Review
  • Please keep the topic of messages relevant to the subject of the article.
  • Personal verbal attacks will be deleted.
  • Please don't use comments to plug your web site. Such material will be removed.
  • Just ensure to *Refresh* your browser for a new security code to be displayed prior to clicking on the 'Send' button.
  • Keep in mind that the above process only applies if you simply entered the wrong security code.
Name:
Comment:



Code:* Code
I wish to be contacted by email regarding additional comments

Powered by AkoComment Tweaked Special Edition v.1.4.6
AkoComment © Copyright 2004 by Arthur Konze - www.mamboportal.com
All right reserved

Last Updated ( Saturday, 10 May 2008 )
 
< Prev   Next >